I Could Have Been #SandraBland

That thought is what kept me silently outraged for weeks. This one hit TOO close to home. They all hit close to home. I have a brother and fiancé that I worry about tirelessly. Black men are a target. But as I take the necessary steps to finally get my driver’s license, what will I do when I get pulled over? Will my fear keep my docile and agreeable? Or will my outrage and blanket disdain for why is happening to men and women that look like me keep me from biting my tongue or “getting smart”. How far will “knowing my rights” get me if they feel they don’t apply to me in the first place? We too are now a target. Women. Black women.

#SandraBland #RekiaBoyd #ShellyFrey #YvetteSmith #MyaHall #KendraJames #NatashaMcKenna #AiyanaStanleyJones

I used to fear and speak up for my Black men because many felt their voices were too loud. But who will speak for us? The women whose voices are now too soft.

#sayhername

dionnacamille

3 Comments

  1. Hi Dionna Camille,

    I really like your blog. I appreciate how open and honest you are with your readers. It can be very difficult to put ourselves out there and you’ve tackled it with great courage.

    With that being said, I recently created a blog/site called G.U.M: Growing Up Millennial. We’re making some new additions including an opportunity to showcase and connect bloggers. If interested, please email us at info@iamgum.com. Hope to hear from you soon!

    – Ja’Mei

Leave a Reply

