I Read This Book and I Liked it

I just finished reading The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae. Funny, witty and insanely relate-able, I’d say this book is the voice of many Black late millennial women.

In case you don’t know who Issa Rae is, she’s the mastermind behind several very successful and hilariously genuine web-series all of which she started on YouTube. Mainly her books namesake, “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl” and my new favorite “First”. If she isn’t writing these series, she is producing them while giving tons of Black working actors and writers exposure.

I’m not going to give away the book (I want you to read it). I will say that this book is full of 90s anecdotes of her coming of age, not living up to stereotypes, being comfortable with herself and her blackness that any Black woman can relate to. Plus, she also offers navigation tips for awkward scenarios for awkwards and introverts alike (i.e When Co-Workers Attack).

Underneath her sarcasm, humor, and 80s babies references (raised in the 99s and the 2000s), Issa Rae’s message, as cliché as it may sound, to me is……Be yourself, follow your dreams and if that dream should alter a bit….IT’S OKAY!

I like this book and i think you should read it. Okay, bye.

dionnacamille

Leave a Reply

